Publish with us

Follow Penguin

Follow Penguinsters

Follow Hind Pocket Books

A Guide To the Use of Colours and Their Symbolism- An Excerpt from ‘The Hidden Rainbow’

Kelly Dorji takes you on a spiritual journey through Buddhist symbolism to help find your inner peace. In our busy lives, The Hidden Rainbow is the perfect oasis.

Read an excerpt from the book below:



The main colours used in Buddhist art are blue, black, white,

red, green and yellow. With black as the exception, the other

five colours are representative of a specific Buddha in the

depiction of the five Wisdom Buddhas of the Vajrayana or

Tantric Tradition of Buddhism.


The colour B L U E is used to represent the Healing Buddha,

signifying calm, purity and healing.


W H I T E signifies purity and is the colour of knowledge

and longevity. The primordial Buddha ‘Vairocana’ is depicted

in white.


The Buddha Amitabha is shown in R E D, which symbolizes

life and holiness.


The Amoghasiddhi Buddha in G R E E N signifies

accomplishment and the elimination of envy.


Y E L L OW is the colour chosen to depict Ratnasambhava,

who is a symbol of balance and humility.


Through meditation, these colours may contribute to the

restorative process of the human condition by transforming human

delusions to original qualities as follows:

– Meditating on the colour blue can pacify aggression.

– White can transform ignorance into wisdom.

– Red turns attachment into selflessness and realization.

– Concentrating on green can eliminate jealousy.

– Meditation on the colour yellow can enrich the sense of self and

eliminate pride.


Keep calm and find your inner peace with The Hidden Rainbow.

More from the Penguin Digest

error: Content is protected !!